600 size Mi-24...started work on it.

Custom Search
Electric Rc Helicopter Forum Index -> Scale Helis

Advertisements

View previous topic :: View next topic  
ferretmaster
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D

Location: Casa Grande AZ, USA. 66 and yes! Heli's reverse aging!!

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 5:20 am
PostPost subject: 600 size Mi-24...started work on it.

This will be a long slow build, but will throw out a post now and then on the progress.

I have been working on the main landing gear for about two months now...off and on. I have the gear set up pretty much the way the Mil Design Bureau did the real thing.

Many thanks to a Gent named FishRider (on another forum) for a hint or two on the actuation. I tried to improve on his approach, but kept coming back to nearly the same design. Both rely heavily on the Mil full scale gear, but needing to actuate with a single 90 degree throw landing gear actuator that is available to us model builders was a challenge.

The results look almost scale and work with spring shock absorption. All gear doors operate in the correct sequence and look really good in operation.

The gear, doors and all servos are mounted to a removable section that as the name indicates, can be removed for service and such.

A few still teaser pictures for the time being.....

"Till later ...."

ferretmaster
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D

PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 9:31 am
PostPost subject: A few more views....

Main gear in the down position. Arrows indicate the needed adjustments to close up the gaps when in the retracted position.

Shows the closed position. Five screws hold the belly portion and rear gear doors in position on the fuselage.

Main gear extended and rear doors and servos removed.
[img]http://www.electric-rc-

Main gear and front door servos.helicopter.com/phpbb/userpix/5726_dsc00048_1.jpg[/img]

Front bulkhead view, Six bolts hold bulkheads together.

Main gear detail.

Mains retracted

Missing the door connecting rods, but ready to go.