Custom Search
Electric Rc Helicopter Forum Index -> Walkera

Advertisements

View previous topic :: View next topic  
magyarbacsi
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 6:23 am
PostPost subject: converting gear drive to belt drive?

I have seen belt drive setup on copters,but only to drive the tail rotor. Are there any drives as such that drive the main rotor? I'm tired of having to replace those cheap gears that get chewed in matter of seconds. I have placed rubber bands on my throttle so when the copter is about to make a bad landing, aka crash, I let go of the throttle so it wont keep spinning while the blades are jammed. Yes, I'm a beginner with copters, but been flying planes for over 15 yrs.

There has to be some way a slip clutch or a ribbed belt drive that can be used. I don't mean to cheat the gear makers out of their cost who I suspect make a living selling tons of those purposefully made soft gears.

If there is a drive as such, who makes it or on what model is it on. I have lathes, mills and such and thinking about making a couple of pulleys for such a drive, but wonder if that is not practical or is already in use?
'
platinum
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:03 am
PostPost subject:

I only found for the real rotorcraft.
I wonder if that is not practical for the small RC!
Yes, it's smoother, quieter.

platinum

pjdog
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 8:00 am
PostPost subject:

You will find that being a fixed wing RC flier is really a handycap when trying to become a rotor wing flier. I broke allot of helicopter parts before I finally got the hang of it. I also had to switch transmitter modes for helicopters. I think that was the real big hold back.

jack
nick_onelove
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 8:14 am
PostPost subject: