Register | Log in
 
Electric-RC-Helicopter.com's Homepage
AlbumAlbum  | FAQ | Search | Memberlist
 

Flight Simulator Test Results


Custom Search
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Electric Rc Helicopter Forum Index -> Simulators / Training Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Advertisements


View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tombo242
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 4718
Location: Santo Estêvão, East Algarve, Portugal. Now 82, but still feels 22.

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 10:59 pm
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Hi Harleynhelis,

Have you seen the comments this RCGroups thread?

Here's a screenshot of helisimrc.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
T-R-E-V
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 566
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 12:05 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Hi zvok,

Thank you for your input, and it’s comments like this that make it all worth while.

I have included HeliSimRC review, as requested by zvok, harleynhelis, also thanks to tombo for the screen shot.

That’s the thanks’ out the way, now for the apologies.
I have just complete and uploaded the videos, replacing the old ones,

but unfortunately the graphics are not that good,
and do not do justices to any of the flight simulators,

but the good news there videos do not look like frame by frame model position,

if you would like more simulator reviews added, please let me know.

Trev.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
harleynhelis
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 26 Jan 2009
Posts: 156
Location: Tucson, AZ

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 12:33 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Interesting feedback from that other forum Trev. Nice screen shot tombo ... thanks for that. I guess I'll give it a try. Cool I'll let you know what I think about it later I guess. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
harleynhelis
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 26 Jan 2009
Posts: 156
Location: Tucson, AZ

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 3:31 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

WOW Exclamation Exclamation Exclamation I'm impressed Shocked . For a free sim that's that good ... I'm just amazed. Very Happy . Good job Trev ... thanks for sharing that one with us. It's too windy to fly outside now so I guess I'll just play with the little sim Trev gave us. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
T-R-E-V
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 566
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 3:33 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Hi harleynhelis,

I am pleased you where impressed with HeliSimRC, and I agree with you it is a very good flight simulator,

and who said you get nothing for nothing these days,

I have changed the canopy on this screen grab, check out the pull down menus, there are loads of choices.

Close up action flight.



Trev.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
harleynhelis
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 26 Jan 2009
Posts: 156
Location: Tucson, AZ

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 4:03 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Yup ... lots of options. Very Happy I think it's better than FMS. I'm kinda curious if you can import models from FMS. I haven't had enough time today to try it. Have you tried it Question I have tons of models for FMS but I am totally surprised with the Trex he's incorporated. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
T-R-E-V
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 566
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 4:18 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Yes harleynhelis,

FMS models can be imported into C:\Program Files\HeliSim\ModelGeometries

Here is some new FMS download Models for you to try.

http://www.rc-sim.de/dl_engine_eng/index.php?subcat=53&PHPSESSID=7d255e26d1f6d052a36b98b05258a24f

Trev.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
T-R-E-V
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 566
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:20 pm
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

The Simulator Test Results has just been updated,

With FMS to test out the new screen capture software,
with much better results on both graphics and speed,

I have not yet updated the other simulator video clips yet, but I will using the same software,

This will give a more realistic comparison.

Trev.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
T-R-E-V
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 566
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 4:33 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Free simulator added to the “Flight Simulator Test Results” list,

Please go to page one, to check out Leo's RC Simulator, a truly remarkable simulator,

Credit goes to Leo’s programming skills,

The reason I have scored the Helicopter Controllability so high was because of the vast amount of control, you have not only of the transmitter
but also the weather conditions,

You can even import models from FMS and Aerofly.

Trev.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tombo242
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 4718
Location: Santo Estêvão, East Algarve, Portugal. Now 82, but still feels 22.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:06 pm
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Hi T-R-E-V,

I can't agree on Leos' free sim. I've spent some time trying in vain to get into Idle Up Mode, does not seem possible. Pratice Autorotation landings - HOW? All this and more is possible with HeliSim, which is also free. But you have graded these two the same on control, I find no comparision if you are using the sim for 400+ helis. I would rate Leos' at 3, unless there is a way to stop the sim from thinking that I am using a joystick and get to grips with my 6 channel USB controller. If there is a way it is not obvious. The only controller that comes up is the joystick!

Compared to HeliSim I find the models' graphics quite poor, I would rate it at least 2 points below HeliSim. The scenery however is quite good, I do agree there.

For flying fixed wing and sailplanes it obviously scores above HeliSim as that is for helis only, but this is a heli forum and we must consider the sim on that basis only.

Based on helis only, my score for Leos' Sim is 25. Considering that you cannot fly an inverted heli with it, I think that is quite generous.

Sorry T-R-E-V, but just my 2c worth.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
T-R-E-V
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 566
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:31 pm
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Hi tombo242,

You say you cannot agree with me on Leos' free sim”

But after 7 hours of announcing this simulator, you downloaded evaluated and gradeded.

It is possible to fly inverted, by altering the controls, please see diagram.



This is why I graded the control so high; no other simulator has got this amount of control over the transmitter,

You also say the models are poor, compared to Helisim, Leo’s Sim, has the ability to import both FMS, and AeroFly models,

and as you know I have scored AeroFly the Best simulator,

Scenery can be changed; also flying zones can be edited,

I do suggest you spend a little more time altering the transmitter calibration page, also importing models.

Look forward to your findings.

Trev.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tombo242
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 4718
Location: Santo Estêvão, East Algarve, Portugal. Now 82, but still feels 22.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 12:51 pm
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Hi T-R-E-V,

My "Idle Up" is "X Rotation" and my "Throttle Hold" is "Y Rotation". They do not come in as switches 1, 2 or 3. I have tried copying your setup - it makes no difference. I think that in order to get "Idle Up" and "Throttle Hold", I have to change "Flaps" and "Other" - but there is no way to do this, these functions are locked into the programme!

My controller works perfectly with my other simulators, I can only fly Leos' fully with a buttoned joystick. That is why I stick to my orginal 2 for control. I do not fly Rc with a joystick. When it recognises the difference in a joystick to my controller then I might upgrade it.

I do appreciate that you have no problems with your controller, but perhaps you should try using several controllers in order to check the functions fully. I notice that your controller is recognised as "ADC" mine is "PPD". Changing this to "ADC" in the registry ruins my other sims and still does not give me control in Leos' sim.

I will wait a while and check further before I decide whether to uninstall it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
T-R-E-V
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 566
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:55 pm
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Thanks’ for that Tombo,

You are absolutely right about using more than one controller to test the simulators,

Like you said they all react slightly differently with each transmitter,

I have just ordered a training lead for my E-flight LP5DSM 5ch Transmitter, and will post the results.

The setup shown in the diagram was not my final setup, it was just to show the sliders, stops and markers movement, and again I will post the correct layout
when my lead arrives.

Finally I will import an AeroFly model, so hang fire, till I have carried out the entire test.

Trev.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NMGeezer
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 28 Jan 2009
Posts: 212
Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 10:48 pm
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Hi T-R-E-V,

Where did you order the training lead for the LP5DSM from? When I first got my CX2, Since it wasn't covered in the manual I called Tech. support to find out what the TRN switch was for and what the connection at the back of the TX was for. I was told that the switch and connection were not used. I thought it was sort of dumb to put switches and connections that were not used on something but said to myself "oh well" and forgot about it. Let me know how it works, I would like to try a couple of those simulators that you guy's have been talking about.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
T-R-E-V
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 566
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 12:52 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Hi NMGeezer,

I ordered my CX2 TRAINER LEAD from Midland Helicopters UK,

http://www.modelhelicopters.co.uk/acatalog/HeliSprs_BladeCX.html

If technical is right about the connection not being used at the back of the TX, I will open the transmitter up, and post a wiring diagram how to reconnect.

But all results will be posted as soon as I have tested them.

Trev.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Electric Rc Helicopter Forum Index -> Simulators / Training All times are GMT + 7 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4
Jump to:  

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Electric Rc Helicopter topic RSS feed 

SmartFeedSmartFeed




Electric-RC-Helicopter.com