Register | Log in
 
Electric-RC-Helicopter.com's Homepage
AlbumAlbum  | FAQ | Search | Memberlist
 

Flight Simulator Test Results


Custom Search
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Electric Rc Helicopter Forum Index -> Simulators / Training Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Advertisements


View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
T-R-E-V
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 566
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 5:35 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Update on the cable and simulator test, my Trainer Lead came today,
From Midland Helicopters UK,

Not realising at the time I ordered the buddy lead, to connect two transmitter together, I should have ordered the USB lead,
I re-ordered, they said they should be getting some more in this Friday.

I also opened up the transmitter to check if this connection is being used, and I can confirm it is wired to the trainer plug.

But what was strange the white plug with four wires that comes from the back of he transmitter that you plug the trainer lead into,
there is a switch right next to this on the circuit board, not sure what this does,

But may need to be switched in training mode. Again I can answer this when I get the correct lead.



Trev.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NMGeezer
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 28 Jan 2009
Posts: 212
Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 8:52 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Hi T-R-E-V,

Sure would be nice if the company would put out som documentation Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NMGeezer
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 28 Jan 2009
Posts: 212
Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 11:00 pm
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Hi T-R-E-V

I was looking for Aerofly Pro Deluxe and noticed that their price went up cconsiderably, $179.00 w/o the TX and $199.00 with the TX. They must have seen your comparison and decided they wern't charging enough Smile They are now about the same as Real Flight 4.5 but if flight characteridtics are more realistic, they still should be #1. I did notice that the higher price came with a lot of upgrades.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tombo242
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 4718
Location: Santo Estêvão, East Algarve, Portugal. Now 82, but still feels 22.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 1:50 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Hi NMGeezer,

Just jumping in with my 2C worth here.

I find the AeroFly Pro flight characteristics the most realistic I've come across. If you want a sim that is very close to the real thing and not designed to make flying easy, then AeroFly Pro is it. The take off ground effects on the single rotors is so close to real it's unbelievable, really does require skill and training to get it right. This is one sim that does not let you get away with anything!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
T-R-E-V
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 566
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 8:08 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

I Received the cable to hook up my Blade cx2 transmitter to the computer to test Leos' free sim,

The disappointing news is that the cable does not work, as NMGeezer suspected, I thought the switch on the circuit board
refereed to early, might be needed, to make this work, but sadly no,

The good news is I have decided to make my own cable, if successful I will post the wiring diagram how this was done.

Regarding Aerofly Pro Deluxe v RealFlight G4, like Tombo said AeroFly Pro flight characteristics is the most realistic he has come across,
and he would know, as Tombo is a very experience pilot,

If you would like me to include a video clip of both simulators in question, to show off there best features, what would you like to see;

My first thought would be to hover just in front of the camera lens, rotating 360 degrees slowly to show off the helicopters realistic features,

But if there is other requests please let me know.

Trev.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roelof
Fully Charged
Fully Charged


Joined: 04 Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Location: Centurion, South Africa

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 5:40 pm
PostPost subject: Phoenix?
Reply with quote

At some time I will get one of the expensive simulators, and I value this thread.
Has anyone managed to have a look at Phoenix simulator (http://www.phoenix-sim.com) ? I ask because it was recommended by a local shop, and a comparison to the others could be useful (at least for me Razz )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chaotic_liftoff
Hopping Maniac
Hopping Maniac


Joined: 25 Sep 2009
Posts: 27
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 12:06 pm
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

I have to say ... great choice of tunes to go along with the vids hehe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
T-R-E-V
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 566
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 5:14 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Roelof, I did intend to test both the Phoenix Simulator and the brilliant new FS-One Hanger 9, but both require dedicated dongles.

Hi Chaotic_liftoff, I did try to choose songs that would complement the video clips. Thank you for noticing.

Trev.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RatBike
Hover Master
Hover Master


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Location: Illinois

PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:15 pm
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

I just noticed that RealFlight has a new version out.


Anyone try it yet???

http://www.eboyztoyz.net/index.php?op=showitem&sku=11127
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RatBike
Hover Master
Hover Master


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Location: Illinois

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 7:00 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

I just purchased it today, and I can't get past the registration screen.

I have 64bit vista, and it gets to the screen where it's asking for the serial # off of the DVD cover and the bottom of the controller, but the (continue) button is gray.


Anyone know what my problem is?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tombo242
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 4718
Location: Santo Estêvão, East Algarve, Portugal. Now 82, but still feels 22.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 6:25 pm
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Hi RatBike,

Where is the programme directory placed, it should be in your "C:\Programs(x86)" directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RatBike
Hover Master
Hover Master


Joined: 28 Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Location: Illinois

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 8:23 pm
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

700 POSTS FOR TOMBO. WOOHOOO!!!!!


It was my fault on the installation. I made what is apparently a common mistake when entering the cereal # I mistook an I for an L.
What was written on the controller was just a vertical line like >> l << at first I thought it was a 1, but there were other 1s in the # to compare to.

http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=24405


Last edited by RatBike on Tue Nov 17, 2009 2:45 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tombo242
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 4718
Location: Santo Estêvão, East Algarve, Portugal. Now 82, but still feels 22.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 10:09 pm
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Glad you got it sorted RatBike. Enjoy, it's a good programme. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NMGeezer
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 28 Jan 2009
Posts: 212
Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 11:11 pm
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Hi Tombo,

If your LHS has a demo of Phoenix or if anyone you know has it, Take a look. One of their flying sites is Lagos Rocks, Portugal. Not a plug for Phoenix, Just interesting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tombo242
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 4718
Location: Santo Estêvão, East Algarve, Portugal. Now 82, but still feels 22.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 2:15 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Hi NMGeezer,

One day I must post a pic of my LHS, you would not believe it! In 4 years I have never seen it open. There is a phone number to call, but when you arrange a time, he might or might not turn up (usually not). If you happen to be lucky and catch him open, then from what I have seen through the dusty window everything is at least 8 years out of date. A lot of his stock that I have glimpsed reminds me of the things in my LHS when I was in Germany in 1957!

Chances of a new computer sim release there are just about non-existant. Most of my things come from Hong Kong. I will do some searching though, sounds interesting. Thanks for the tip. (Lagos is about 60Km from me,)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Electric Rc Helicopter Forum Index -> Simulators / Training All times are GMT + 7 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4
Jump to:  

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Electric Rc Helicopter topic RSS feed 

SmartFeedSmartFeed




Electric-RC-Helicopter.com