Register | Log in

Electric-RC-Helicopter.com's Homepage
AlbumAlbum  | FAQ | Search | Memberlist

Pre-build electronics checks

Custom Search
Electric Rc Helicopter Forum Index -> Electronic, Parts, Components, Batteries, and Chargers

Advertisements

View previous topic :: View next topic  
matelot
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 12:54 pm
PostPost subject: Pre-build electronics checks

Eagerly awaiting the postman with a 450 FBL kit and its motor, servos, gyros, ESC/UBEC, program cards etc. Then another delivery with a DX6i and rx... All very exciting. Very Happy (But may be a while coming from China).

Without delay I'd like to test all the electronics for basic functionality, then if there's a problem, I can get back to the suppliers. This is before I start building the kit and will be the first time for everything - and I've never programmed a tx before.

So, what will be the easiest way to hook everything up direct just to see that the motor turns and the gyros twitch etc. without burning anything out? You can guess what I'm after. I can cobble together anything for testing. On hand will be 3 x 2S lipos, tons of AA and AAA rechargeables, transformers with outputs 1.5 - 12V DC etc. (I wasn't getting the 3S lipos until I'm sure about the space available on the tray and under the canopy).

What radio settings (if at all) will need to be made just to test out the electronics until I get an understanding of the programming? (I can operate sonar to sink submarines, but modern technology... Shocked )

Anything I learn I plan to do circuit diags. and photos in due course for future information of others on the forum.

Cheers
SkyHigh
Flying Inverted
Flying Inverted

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 3:38 pm
PostPost subject:

Congratulations on your new helicopter 450 FBL Kit, you may be over complicating the electronics,