Electric Rc Helicopter Forum Index -> Honey Bee Goto page 1, 2  Next

Advertisements

View previous topic :: View next topic  
G.K.
Hopping Maniac
Hopping Maniac

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 5:27 pm
PostPost subject: Boom strike damage

As I mentioned in another post, I had a boom strike last week on my HB CP3. This vapourised the horizontal fin, bent the horizontal axis bar, bent the boom and took a chunk out of the leading edge on one blade. I checked the main shaft and that seems OK.

I straightened the boom and the axis, cut a new fin from plastic and re balanced and tracked the blades. I fired up the heli and it flew OK with no noticable vibration. I couldn't say if it handled OK because I have no experience on which to draw.

I had a closer look yesterday as I wasn't convinced that I'd spotted all the damage.

The horizontal axis bar wasn't perfectly straight, when i put an allen key in one end and spun it the opposite blade holder wiggled up and down about a quarter of a millimetre, hardly visible......

I then checked the horizontal axis for play in the center hub and there was considerable play up/down and side to side. The bearings are no longer a good snug fit in the center hub....It looks like the bearing housings have been stretched on both sides, there's no cracks, just stretching.

I'm not sure if this was caused by the original boom strike, if it was caused by a slightly bent horizontal bar during subsequent flying or if it was originally a sloppy fit, which I doubt.

...any way new bits ordered from my supplier (very good job they do), cost £11.00, arriving tommorow. I've probably missed other damage. I'll not fly it anymore until it's sorted. I'll update if it handles any better (I think it probably will).
tombo242
Admin
Admin

Location: Santo Estêvão, East Algarve, Portugal. Now 82, but still feels 22.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 5:37 pm
PostPost subject:

Hi Gary,