Register | Log in
 
Electric-RC-Helicopter.com's Homepage
AlbumAlbum  | FAQ | Search | Memberlist
 

Clearview/Dx6i/Linux


Custom Search
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Electric Rc Helicopter Forum Index -> Sim / Training
 
Advertisements


View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
matelot
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 09 Jan 2012
Posts: 331
Location: Back in Blighty

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:36 pm
PostPost subject: Clearview/Dx6i/Linux
Reply with quote

In due course when I get my T-Rex and DX6i, I plan on (so far) using the Clearview sim.

a. Are there generally any issues between Clearview and the DX6i?
b. which/what cable is preferable between the tx and Win7, or tx and Linux?
c. given that Linux distros move ahead in leaps and bounds (I'm triple booting with Win7, Mepis and PCLOS), has anyone got Clearview to work properly under Linux, or is it still subject to being run under Wine? If so, any issues?

I know there's a bit on the web about this, but nothing current, and distros move fast.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tombo242
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 4718
Location: Santo Estêvão, East Algarve, Portugal. Now 82, but still feels 22.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:18 pm
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Can't help with 'C' I'm afraid but:

a. As long as you set a blank model in plane mode (even for helis) - no issues.

b. I used this cable at first but found that the DX6i required battery power when connected to the computer, and it was not the same as flying in the field. The two sticks are the same but there is no advantage in using your good Tx for the sim. You cannot use the facilities of the DX6i on ClearView, it requires just a basic 6 channel Tx/controller.

So, I have one of these. The supplied sim (FMS) is useless but the controller needs no batteries works perfectly with ClearView and I save wear & tear on the DX6i.

Tom.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matelot
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 09 Jan 2012
Posts: 331
Location: Back in Blighty

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:39 pm
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Many thanks again, tombo.

I take it that the cheapo kit when used with Clearview will give me a realistic-enough and comparable experience to the DX6i (within reason, and even if all the DX6i functions aren't there).

Oh, and the Dynam only goes to Win XP. Will it work with Win7, I wonder?

Edit: seems like it will.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tombo242
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 4718
Location: Santo Estêvão, East Algarve, Portugal. Now 82, but still feels 22.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 12:02 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Well, mine works fine with Vista 64 bit so I don't foresee a problem there. It's the software in the sim that varies. A USB port is pretty much the same regardless of the system. If in real doubt ask the supplier to confirm usage in win 7. The answers are not always reliable though.

For me I find that in the field for 99.9% of the time I am only using the 2 sticks. The same goes for the sim. (Except for practising landing planes - you saw my ClearView Kfir I think!) As far as the DX6i functions go, you can't use them on ClearView anyway so there's not much point. As long as you have the same mode on the Tx and Controller i.e. both mode 1 or mode 2 and NOT one of each, you will find that the stick usage relates both in the field and on the sim. In fact I like the difference as when I have the DX6i in my hands I know that a crash is going to be expensive!!! Shocked

Tom.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matelot
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 09 Jan 2012
Posts: 331
Location: Back in Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 1:23 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Cheers, again. That clears up a lot. I'll hunt around for some prices.

Up at Poitiers aerodrome, there's a Dassault hangar (big blighter). Wonder if there's a Kfir in there...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
admiral
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 20 Mar 2009
Posts: 1101
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 2:58 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

matelot wrote:

Oh, and the Dynam only goes to Win XP. Will it work with Win7, I wonder?

Edit: seems like it will.


I confirm it works well with Win7 64 bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matelot
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 09 Jan 2012
Posts: 331
Location: Back in Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 4:11 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Cheers, admiral. 64 bit capable, but 32 bit Home Edition pre-installed. One of the Linux distros is 64 bit, so I'll get round to trying them all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tombo242
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 4718
Location: Santo Estêvão, East Algarve, Portugal. Now 82, but still feels 22.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 6:16 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

matelot wrote:
Up at Poitiers aerodrome, there's a Dassault hangar (big blighter). Wonder if there's a Kfir in there...


I doubt that very much Matelot. The Israelis built the Kfir when the French took the money for a squadron of Mystères but refused to supply them. It is based on the Mystère but with canards has a shorter take off run, lower landing speed and can lift a heavier weapons load. I don't think that the French were too happy about it. They lost many Mystère orders in S. America to the Kfir.

Tom.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
glawson
Hopping Maniac
Hopping Maniac


Joined: 20 Feb 2012
Posts: 42
Location: Calif. desert

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 11:33 pm
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

I just downloaded the clearview demo on windows vista. I was able to use the computer buttons to control heli and planes. should I be confident that if I download the complete program that my computer will handle it? I've been looking at Phoenix and Realflight sims but I'm not sure if I can run them on my windows vista home basic. I'm really computer challenged! Any opinions would be greatly appreciated. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matelot
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D


Joined: 09 Jan 2012
Posts: 331
Location: Back in Blighty

PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2012 5:14 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Whilst Vista was never highly rated as an OS, if the demo played OK, then the full prog surely will. Can't see why not.

And get something like a cheap Dynam tx purely for the sim - better than keys, and saves wear and tear on a proper tx. But dump the Dynam sim that comes with it.

For what it has to offer, I don't think ClearView can be beaten.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tombo242
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 4718
Location: Santo Estêvão, East Algarve, Portugal. Now 82, but still feels 22.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2012 5:19 am
PostPost subject:
Reply with quote

Hi Glawson,

If the demo is AOK the the full programme will be also. The demo is merely limited to the demo models and a test period of time, otherwise there is no difference.

Any ClearView probs can soom be sorted out on the ClearView forum, you'll find me and a few others there too.

Tom.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Electric Rc Helicopter Forum Index -> Sim / Training All times are GMT + 7 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Electric Rc Helicopter topic RSS feed 

SmartFeedSmartFeed




Electric-RC-Helicopter.com