Custom Search
Electric Rc Helicopter Forum Index -> LAMA
View previous topic :: View next topic  
carr52
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 9:54 am
PostPost subject: Bad motor on Big Lama / E-500

My Big Lama and my E-500 have the same parts except the canopy and landing gear. My problem is that I think one motor is bad. I believe its the rear motor. Reason I suspect that one is the heli wants to tourqe to the right and thats with full left rudder trim. Is there a way to test the motor? Tomorrow I think I'll pull one of the motors out of the Lama and put it in the E-500 and see what happens. I'll take all the help I can get on this one. I'm no electrician.

Tom
pjdog
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 7:40 pm
PostPost subject:

Carr52:

Check out tombo242's thread on replacing the Big Lama's motors with Ball bearing motors. You will get alot more running time. Also they last twice as long and run cooler.

Jack
tombo242
Admin
Admin

Location: Santo Estêvão, East Algarve, Portugal. Now 82, but still feels 22.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 7:43 pm
PostPost subject:

Good idea Tom,

Have you made sure that there is no slip in the drive, Both props should be turning at about the same speed, if you can see a difference in speed then swopping over the leads can some times give a clue. It cannot fly like this but you can hold it down and watch the rotors.

Tom.
carr52
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 8:09 pm
PostPost subject: