Register | Log in

Electric-RC-Helicopter.com's Homepage
AlbumAlbum  | FAQ | Search | Memberlist

Best power to weight ratio setup

Custom Search
Electric Rc Helicopter Forum Index -> Electronic, Parts, Components, Batteries, and Chargers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dav1d
Hover Master
Hover Master

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 8:13 am
PostPost subject: Best power to weight ratio setup

I hope that this is a reasonable question to ask, as I am a total beginner at the selection of suitable components for electric rc helicopters.

I am writing to ask for recommendations on a combination of motor, ESC and battery pack for these candidates for an (idealized) rotor and power/weight is a critical factor. The concept employs two identical rotors.

What I'm working on is an experimental VTOL proof-of-concept prototype. I have written a brute-force Python script which has produced "candidates" for the design of rotors that develop a given amount of thrust per watt absorbed. I've picked 6 of the most promising looking rotors, all having the same diametrical dimensions and rotor RPM but which differ only in their leading and trailing edge angles (all fixed pitch) and the amount of power they (theoretically) absorb. At this point the design has halted until I know at what RPM a suitable motor will turn before I can proceed with gearing design.

Candidate (a) theoretically absorbs 91 [watt]. That particular rotor develops 2118 [gram], (74.7 [oz], 4.67 [lb]) thrust. That wattage absorbed seems a little low compared to the rest, but if it flies, then I'll take it.

The other 5 candidates theoretically develop the same thrust at the same RPM but differ in the amount of power they absorb:

(b) 176 [watt]
(c) 257 [watt]
(d) 333 [watt]
(e) 405 [watt]
(f) 474 [watt]

Any help you can offer would be very much appreciated.
Thank you in advance. ~ Dav1d
Burgess
Extreme 3D
Extreme 3D

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 7:17 pm
PostPost subject:

Hello Dave and welcome to the forum.