Register | Log in

Electric-RC-Helicopter.com's Homepage
AlbumAlbum  | FAQ | Search | Memberlist

technical questions: want to convert heli to antenna support

Custom Search
Electric Rc Helicopter Forum Index -> Electronic, Parts, Components, Batteries, and Chargers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
pa5bw
Charging
Charging

PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 3:36 am
PostPost subject: technical questions: want to convert heli to antenna support

Dear all,

I have a quite non-standard project, but need your specific electric RC helicopter knowledge as I'm pretty new to this stuff.

I have a Double Horse (coaxial rotor) toy helicopter that is hardly fit to fly with. I want to convert it to keep an 80 meter long wire vertical in the air. I am a (licensed) radio amateur and want to use the helicopter as a "sky hook".

I want to feed the helicopter through that same wire, so that it can stay up for a long time. I will give it a vertical tail fin so that it will keep it's nose in the wind and I'll put the tail rotator up front to compensate for the wind if the wire is not vertical. So battery and radio control can be omitted.

Technical questions:
(1) Are the motors in these cheap Double Horse helicopters all brush types? Does that mean that I control motor speed by changing the DC level?
(2) The Double Horse has two motors for the stacked (coaxial) rotors. While hovering and not navigating, do both motors get the same voltage and hence the same speed?
(3) For brushless motors, are they controled by varying their AC frequency/ If so, around what frequency do they operate typically?
(4) My motors make a lot of noise. Are there affordable low noise motors? If so what types are recommended?

Kindest regards,
Ben

(The Netherlands)
pa5bw
Charging
Charging

PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 3:38 am
PostPost subject: Mod. Double Hors as Sky Hook for antenna

Dear all,